Let’s Stay Here Under The Stars

labitta
3 min readAug 7, 2021

--

30(+1) Day Song Challenge Day 7: “A Song to Drive To”

This one is a shoutout to all my friends who’s willing to pick me up & drive me almost every time we hung out, because I can’t drive… I appreciate and cherish and love you all ❤

Considering that I can’t drive, that means there was never a single scenario in my life where I go to any place by myself. I’d always have to “depend” on someone to go anywhere (if you think about it that way, that’s kind of fucked up). Either it’s Gojek, my mom, my friends, or the usual public transportation. It’s not that I don’t want to learn it, it’s just that no one ever forces me to do it. But of course, like any other normal human being, I’ve imagined myself driving one by myself. The song I would choose in that scenario would be Rollercoaster by Bleachers. Bleachers’ songs are the perfect option for every occasion, but that would be too obvious, right? Adding a bit of sprinkle to this whole scenario would significantly elevate it.

One thing about me; I romanticize almost every mundane event in my life. I could go to a grocery store alone and imagined myself being an aspiring chef, sorting out fresh ingredients for my imaginary highly-anticipated upcoming new restaurant. It’s ridiculous, but it’s not. I also love to contemplate in a moving car while I’m in my zone, because this is where my creative juice manufactures itself. I get bored easily and that’s just how I amuse myself. One of the song I romanticized the most in cars would be Mid-City Love by Jeff Lewis.

A heads up: this might be a tad bit too cringe for some of you. Hehe.

Mid City Love (As Featured in “Terrace House” TV Show) by Jeff Lewis

The whole idea of this song is about a couple of lover making love and preserving every moment they have that night. It sounds rather raunchy, but it was implicitly stated in a pretty tone of words. Also, this song gives a major car-ish vibe and you would know it once you hear the song. On to verse 1:

Lets set the mood
Girl we got the whole night, and I ain’t tryin to let it go
Give me that good love
Baby for your heart id do anything anything

Once I heard that very first beat of percussion, all the tension in my body just flew away. It’s magical really how his song could soothe my temper any day. The energy it gives is very comforting and… reassuring? Oh, how I wish I could buy a store-bought version of this song in a form of a blanket and wrap my whole body in it like a burrito. Next, verse 2 and pre-chorus:

Just let it all go
The clock is ticking, we ain’t got no time to be home
Let’s lose our control
Tell me what you wanna do anything anything
Lets stay here under the stars

I took that verse personally. At this point, I would consider the relation of Me and Running Away a very close one. And, this song gives me that fleeing-away-in-the-middle-of-the-night-with-no-looking-back-with-your-lover vibe, but not the chaotic and invasion-like type of runaway. Instead, it’s the serene and composed one, where the night is gentle and all the stars peeked to say hi. The roads will be empty, as if to welcome you both to a gate of nowhere and everywhere. Next, the mighty chorus:

Oh I want you right where you are, baby don’t move
We got the moment and no one’s around
We got no reason to stop
Were like street lights, we burn, oh, we can burn until the day light
Making mid city love

I like to imagine myself being in this scenario (minus the raunchy part). Without doubt, I consider myself an emotionally independent woman. Sorting out all sorts of my jumbled feelings by myself (not saying that this is the greatest solution) on the daily is what I do frequently . Therefore, listening to Mid-City Love feels like comfort safety net for my heart. It’s a hopeful reassurance that everything’s gonna fall into the right place, with the right one, when it’s appropriate.

But, mostly it’s my hopeful desire to be capable of driving alone :D

--

--